Skip to content

2001 – Stuck in Neutral, by Terry Trueman

April 7, 2009

Shawn McDaniel is an enigma and a miracle–except no one knows it, least of all his father. His life is not what it may seem to anyone looking at him. Not even those who love him best have any idea what he is truly like. In this extraordinary and powerful first novel, the reader learns to look beyond the obvious and finds a character whose spirit is rich beyond imagining and whose story is unforgettable.
My life is like one of those “good news-bad news” jokes. Like, “I’ve got some good news and some bad news–which do you want first?”

I could go on about my good news for hours, but you probably want to hear the punch line, my bad news, right? Well, there isn’t that much, really, but what’s here is pretty wild. First off, my parents got divorced ten years ago because of me. My being born changed everything for all of us, in every way. My dad didn’t divorce my mom, or my sister, Cindy, or my brother, Paul–he divorced me. He couldn’t handle my condition, so he had to leave. My condition? Well, that brings us to the guts of my bad news.

Post links to reviews of or your thoughts on this book in the comments.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 8:13 pm

    A fascinating read – like getting into the mind of someone who can’t communicate – wonder how accurate it is? My review is here.

Leave a Reply

