Skip to content

2007 – The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

April 7, 2009

It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery…

Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist — books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Post links to reviews of or your thoughts on this book in the comments.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 11:40 am

    Here’s my review:
    http://thebluestockings.com/2008/09/the-book-thief/
    5 out of 5 stars.

  2. April 8, 2009 1:53 pm

    Here’s my review of The Book Thief

    http://blbooks.blogspot.com/2008/01/book-thief.html

  3. April 12, 2009 6:13 am

    The Book Thief

  4. April 13, 2009 9:31 pm

    True confessions: I started reading this and got about 75% through but never finished it. It was due back at the library, and I just never requested it again. *sheepish look*

    I know everyone likes this one a lot, but I have a hard time with Holocaust stories. Actually, I have a hard time with war stories (or movies for that matter) in general.

  5. April 13, 2009 10:10 pm

    Kelly, I have a hard time with war stories too, but they always end up being my favorites. Run to the library, check it out again, and finish it! 🙂

    Here’s my review for this book. I think I used the word “amazing” many many times!
    http://sueysbooks.blogspot.com/2008/01/reveiw-book-thief-by-markus-zusak.html

  6. April 23, 2009 2:34 pm

    My review: http://5-squared.blogspot.com/2009/04/book-thief-by-markus-zusak.html

    I’m one of those people that didn’t think it was so great. Sorry!!

  7. May 29, 2009 7:25 pm

    One of my all time favorites!

    http://1morechapter.com/2007/03/10/the-book-thief-by-markus-zusak/

  8. September 13, 2009 11:29 am

    Here’s my review at Bookin’ It.

  9. Kell permalink
    January 26, 2011 9:29 am

    Oh how I loved this book. I read this pre-blog for a class, but here are my fast notes on it: “Amazing. Had tears in my eyes at the end. I knew it was supposed to be good but didn’t expect this!”

    The prose is stunning and the story both heartbreaking and heartwarming. I just adored it.

  10. December 27, 2011 2:32 pm

    Just found this Challenge but have a Review of this Book already on my blog so here it is:

    http://daisychain1.wordpress.com/2011/01/25/review-die-bucherdiebin-the-book-thief-by-markus-zusak/

  11. October 3, 2012 2:23 pm

    Just adding to the love: http://librariansbookreviews.blogspot.com/2011/06/retro-friday-review-book-thief-by.html Such a fabulous book.

Leave a Reply

