Skip to content

2009 – Tender Morsels, by Margo Lanagan

April 7, 2009

Tender Morsels is a dark and vivid story, set in two worlds and worrying at the border between them. Liga lives modestly in her own personal heaven, a world given to her in exchange for her earthly life. Her two daughters grow up in this soft place, protected from the violence that once harmed their mother. But the real world cannot be denied forever — magicked men and wild bears break down the borders of Liga’s refuge. Now, having known Heaven, how will these three women survive in a world where beauty and brutality lie side by side?

Post links to reviews of or your thoughts on this book in the comments.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2009 6:10 am

    Second best book ever 😛

  2. April 13, 2009 9:29 pm

    I didn’t love this, but I can appreciate the writing. I can’t say I’d recommend it to anyone, but I don’t regret reading it.

    More about my hangups are in my review at YAnnabe.

  3. April 17, 2009 8:23 am

    Wish I had known there was so much rape, incest and gang rape in this book before I read it. I really did not like it at all. I have read Kelly’s review at YAannabe and what she wrote echos my feelings. She just wrote her thoughts much more cohesively than I did mine.

  4. July 21, 2009 8:16 am

    I enjoyed this book except for the bit at the end with the cloth-men. My review is here: http://zenleaf.blogspot.com/2009/07/tender-morsels-by-margo-lanagan.html

  5. August 25, 2009 4:41 pm

    I started reading it and ended up skimming through it. The writing really was beautiful, but I couldn’t handle all the horrible things. Similar to what Jeannette and Kelly said.

  6. leftik permalink
    January 3, 2011 3:03 pm

    This book blew me away. Disturbing, dark and emotional, I was near-crying numerous times. The writing was beautiful and I was so impressed when I went back and re-read the fairytale it was based on and saw the similarities.

    Def. not for everyone, but I loved it. More gushing, if you’re interested, on The Re-Shelf.

Trackbacks

  1. “Bleed, girl, bleed!” he shouted at her one night, turning back to her after he had had at her and fallen away. « crazy dumbsaint of the mind

Leave a comment