Skip to content

2010 – Going Bovine, by Libba Bray

January 18, 2010

Can Cameron find what he’s looking for?

All 16-year-old Cameron wants is to get through high school—and life in general—with a minimum of effort. It’s not a lot to ask. But that’s before he’s given some bad news: he’s sick and he’s going to die. Which totally sucks. Hope arrives in the winged form of Dulcie, a loopy punk angel/possible hallucination with a bad sugar habit. She tells Cam there is a cure—if he’s willing to go in search of it. With the help of a death-obsessed, video-gaming dwarf and a yard gnome, Cam sets off on the mother of all road trips through a twisted America into the heart of what matters most.

Post links to reviews of or your thoughts on this book in the comments.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 10:52 am

    You know, I really struggled with this one. I think it will have an audience, perhaps only a small one, but I am definitely not one of them. I didn’t read the whole thing, ended up skimming most of it. My thoughts can be found here at goodreads.

  2. January 19, 2010 1:39 pm

    I think you are right that the book isn’t for everyone, but I loved it. I enjoyed the quirky “dream” characters and found myself wanting to forget the grim reality of the disease, but knowing that it was still there hovering in the background. Rarely does a book bring me to laughter and tears as this one did. I love road trip novels and this one was quite a ride!

  3. May 22, 2010 2:36 pm

    This wasn’t my cup of tea, but it was enjoyable. Here’s my review.

  4. leftik permalink
    December 30, 2010 9:11 am

    I actually really enjoyed Going Bovine. Between the pop culture pseudo-references and the unreliable narrator, I was sad to see it end!

    My review: Going Bovine by Libba Bray

  5. July 11, 2011 4:25 pm

    Unlike most of the above reviewers, I really, really liked this book. My daughter and I listened to it together on audiobooks, so perhaps that is the preferred format, But I just adored it. i laughed, I cried, I rooted for the hero, and booed at the anti-hero. Lots of symbolism makes me think this will show up in some high school classrooms of the future. Here’s my review, a combined review with the quirky book, The Couch by Parzybok. Loved them both. (And they have both improved in my memory over time)

    http://headfullofbooks.blogspot.com/2010/01/two-tales-two-epic-journeys.html

  6. May 28, 2013 8:46 pm

    There was a lot that I loved in Going Bovine, but as a whole, it kind of made me crazy after a while. Still, Libba Bray is an amazing writer and I will always want to read whatever she writes. Here’s my review of Going Bovine: http://bookshelffantasies.com/2012/08/29/book-review-going-bovine/

Leave a Reply

