Skip to content

2010 – The Monstrumologist, by Rick Yancey

January 18, 2010

These are the secrets I have kept. This is the trust I never betrayed.

But he is dead now and has been for more than forty years, the one who gave me his trust, the one for whom I kept these secrets.

The one who saved me…and the one who cursed me.

So begins the journal of Will Henry, orphaned assistant to Dr. Pellinore War throp, a man with a most unusual specialty: monstrumology, the study of monsters. In his time with the doctor, Will has met many a mysterious late-night visitor, and seen things he never imagined were real. But when a grave robber comes calling in the middle of the night with a grueso me find, he brings with him their most deadly case yet.

Critically acclaimed author Rick Yancey has written a gothic tour de force that explores the darkest heart of man and monster and asks the question: When does a man become the very thing he hunts?

Post links to reviews of or your thoughts on this book in the comments.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 1:03 pm

    an excerpt from my review:

    Horror has taken some peculiar twists in the cinema, especially since latex was discovered in the 80s, and a lot of my students’ only interaction with horror at this point has only been with what is accessible through film: the Saw series, Paranormal Activity, Halloween, etc. Some students have of course discovered Stephen King, but King is our century…not that there is anything wrong with any of it. I bring it up simply to underscore the impressively classical feel and scope of this YA novel. It is terrific YA literature worthy of a spot on your classroom shelf.

    Perhaps it received one its greatest compliments from one of my female students who saw it on my desk; after confirming that I was reading it, she uttered, “That book was gross…I couldn’t sleep any night that I read it.”

    http://walkthewalkblog.blogspot.com/2010/12/ya-book-review-monstrumologist.html

  2. July 11, 2011 4:01 pm

    Too creepy for me but a well-crafted book. Here’s my review:

    http://headfullofbooks.blogspot.com/2009/12/monstrumologist-by-rick-yancey.html

Leave a Reply

